NovedgeMcNeelRhino 6.0Add To Cart

Reviews (98)

User Reviews of Rhino 6.0

Rhino 6.0 has been reviewed by 98 users, with an average rating of 4.6 stars. All our custmer reviews are written by authentic users of the product. We publish all honest and fair product reviews, regardless of the rating.
5 Stars4 Stars3 Stars2 Stars
3116
Excellent tool
Rodrigo Olvera February 21, 2017
Majestic tool for product design
great interaction between Solid CAD, Adobe, and CAD/CAM
3093
Fast, painless transaction.
Hi Hunam August 8, 2016
Nothing to see here. Back to work. ;)
3082
Great product
Francisco Romero Mendoza May 31, 2016
Rhino is a very versitile 3D software, and Novedge a Great retailer for the product.
3043
Best modeler out there!
Anonymous November 9, 2015
Best 3D modeling software available.
3034
Affordable Powerful Modeller
Benjamin Cairns September 28, 2015
I've been uaing solidworks for the past 8 years as a die designer and wanted to give a direct modeler a try. After playing with spaceclaim/, cadkey, rhino and ptc I decided on rhino. I found it the most customizable, most cost effective and offered a lot of great tools. The community has been very responsive and helpful. The 90 day trial period allowed me to get to know the software before purchasing where as the other softwares only allowed 2 weeks to a month. I then purchased from novedge as they had the best deal I could find. I now use rhino about 50% of the time and solidworks the rest. They translate well together though are very different softwares. Some people that come from solidworks may have trouble transitioning.
3017
great product
Ian Kemler July 1, 2015
For the price of a years admission to sketchups student pro license, this product has lasting value.
3006
Great for opening 3D models
Dan Schmucker May 13, 2015
Rhino will open IGS STP and other files that my customer send me to review and adjust for producing tooling.
2988
Great performance
Joaquin Tobar April 9, 2015
The process of installation was quick and easy, now I'm getting more experience with the different tools this program offer and is running excellent on my laptop.
2984
3D Surface modeling and rendering
Lars Nielsen March 25, 2015
Have been using Auto CAD 2002 for a decade testing more modern and affordable programs, but been disappointed whit there lack of stability as the models get more complicated. Rhino 5.0 seems to be the middle of the road price wise and is both stable and much more advance surface modeling and rendering than my out date Auto CAD. I have upgraded my computer whit dedicated Nvidia 2100K grafic card, improving real time rendering tremendusly - just a real nice experience to work whit.
This is a great CAD program - highly recomended.
2978
EXCELLENT
Anonymous March 13, 2015
The best!
2975
Recommend
Daniel Crooks March 11, 2015
Great product, Great Price, Great Service.
2901
Great for product design and prototyping.
Jacques Dugal June 23, 2014
Our shop does product design and prototyping, we use Rhino for all of our form and aesthetic modeling. It works very well for our purposes which include conceptual modeling and prototyping (3d printing mostly) of our designs. The curve tools are also very powerful, and have taken over all 2d duty for designing parts to be laser-cut.
2900
Awesome Service
Anonymous June 23, 2014
Everytime we work with Novdege I am very satisfied. Bob Thayer is always very responsive and accomadating. I will continue to order more in the future.
2891
Rhino 5.0
Randall Taylor May 28, 2014
Great cad program for a great price.
2851
awesome
Wut Htwe February 16, 2014
Fast, responsible sellers. Everything is perfect. Always update through emails... the best ever
2840
Rhino is very good ... Rhino + Grasshopper is superb
Anonymous January 17, 2014
Rhino is a great tool. It's powerful and flexible, its learning curve is not too steep (surprising given the overall power of the solution), and it has worked for me with zero bugs or crashes. It's impressive. Grasshopper is a free add-on that makes Rhino 5x as powerful for my needs.

I like Rhino, but Grasshopper blows me away.

One of the traditional toughest challenges in modelling is how to tune or recreate your work. Creating a significant model happens in hundreds or thousands of steps -- creating each object, relationships / alignment / intersections etc. Even in a great tool like Rhino this feels somewhat like drawing. What happens if you are 20 hours into a project and determine some basic decision (like a key dimension) needs to change? Rescaling etc. can only get you so far. Unfortunately, in the traditional approach, the further you go in a project, the harder it is to change.

Grasshopper changes this approach entirely. Grasshopper is a visual programming tool that runs in a separate window, but controls what happens in Rhino. This allows you to capture all your decisions (origins, dimensions, ratios etc.) as numbers / parameters, then push a button to create the Rhino model from this. All the steps (create object, rotate, intersect, mesh, whatever) are explicit in Grasshopper, so you can always change a parameter and re-run the scenario with changes to get a new Rhino model.

This is a superb idea and the execution of it is also very good (although not yet perfect). By moving modelling further away from the "CAD drawing" paradigm and closer to the "process / programming" paradigm, many things get better. I love the fact that I can review my parameters and modelling steps with another person, that I can change the parameters and re-run models, and that I can put Grasshopper models into source code control. Grasshopper captures much of the value of very expensive modelling tools like PTC.

The only problem with Grasshopper is that there are operations in Rhino that are not yet provided in the Grasshopper layer -- in these cases, you need to work in a more hybrid mode, flipping between the two tools that breaks the new paradigm a little. It would be natural to assume anything you can do in Rhino (UI or Rhinoscript) could also be done in Grasshopper -- not yet true. Hopefully McNeel will achieve complete parity between Rhino and Grasshopper. You can bridge the gap somewhat by creating custom scripts in Grasshopper (e.g. I use Python to access the Rhinoscript API when needed) -- neat capability, I'm OK with that, but it's probably a bit much for many users.

It's hard to fully understand Grasshopper until you use it. My challenge to you is, create a model without touching the Rhino window -- just treat it as output from the Grasshopper process. You can do it, and once you fully grasp this process, it will change the way you think. Not to mention give you a massive productivity boost.
2838
Great Service
Jessica Schroder January 9, 2014
It was a pleasure to order from Novedge. They were quick, friendly and efficient. I will order from them again when I need more software.
2824
rhino 5.0
Young Choi November 21, 2013
Great price and fast shipping!
2819
Excellent price. Official product!
Anonymous November 12, 2013
My Rhino disk arrived quickly and securely. No installation issues whatsoever. Unbeatable, affordable price.
2814
We use it extensively
Anonymous October 25, 2013
Naval Architecture firm and we use Rhino in our Design work.
2802
best program of its kind
Kai Hopf September 24, 2013
It does the job at a good price.
No parametric but that's not what its about.
2781
The Best Design Tool For Archiects
Jacob Johnson July 4, 2013
I have used many different softwares but Rhino is truly the best. There is nothing close to this in terms of customization, fluidity and power. Anyone who is interested in 3D printing, this is the best product for the job. My only critique is that it's renderer is not at a professional level. Overall this is my daily software. Every other program comes secondary.
2767
All Purpose Design
Hans Purdom June 7, 2013
Coming from a 25 year background in 3D surface modeling, I recently looked for a transition to solid modeling for real world design and prototyping. Rhino has been the perfect bridge between the surface modeling software I know, and the strict workflows of of tools like Solidworks. For me, it's the best of both worlds. Every Rhino tool shows a solid anticipation of the problems I need to solve.
2766
Can
Isaac Berry June 5, 2013
This product has all the features I was looking for and, because of the command line word prompt it allows you to type tools you may know from other 3d programs! The way it makes STL files for stereo lithography is a definite selling point for me, it is a great price range and worth every dollar!!!
2759
Rhino 5
Ricardo Simoes Bandeira May 6, 2013
I've been working with Rhino for about two years and Rhino 5 64 is just awesome. Faster, reliable, and easier.
2745
Pc to mac
Chris Tomasi March 27, 2013
My only complaint is the interface is different on the mac.
2742
Always good
Ding Liu March 19, 2013
We buy from Novedge. Only from these guys. We got something like 20 copies in totally from these guys. Smooth! Thank you!
2732
Rhino rules!
Anonymous March 5, 2013
McNeel & co. make a great tool for digital design. There's so much you can do with Rhino and the plug-ins are endless. I really don't see why AutoCAD is the standard.
2723
My go to CAD software
Robert J Kuster February 7, 2013
I've tried and evaluated at least a half dozen cad products. and this is by far the most intuitive and comprehensive package out there. The most important thing to me is that there is lots of help if I ever get stuck on something.
2694
Great App
Larry Miller December 22, 2012
This is a terrific drawing/modeling program!

However it is very large app, and I found the InfiniteSkills training to be essential for learning all of the hundreds of things you can do with Rhino.

Also, make sure that you have the latest driver(s) for your video card.

I use it for generating CNC parts.

Rhino technical assistance was very helpful in getting my problem with my video worked out.

Overall, a great experience.
2682
Why use anything else
Andrew Ancona November 25, 2012
I'm an architecture student and have experience using other programs such as Revit, Sketchup, and AutoCad. Those programs are good but either aren't accurate enough for me, or they were a little troublesome to use. Rhino beats all of those programs, hands down. It's incredibly accurate and so easy to use. The command input is fast and easy, and being able to have the project in four different views at the same time is irreplaceable and incredibly convenient. I had been using Rhino 4 for almost a year when I made the upgrade to Rhino 5; best decision I could have made yet. Good job Rhino, keep the awesome programs coming because you have a customer for life here!
2668
Rhino 4.0
Sara Schneider October 4, 2012
Great product! works great, runs well
2645
Rhino 4.0
Andrew Fowler July 16, 2012
We are not yet using the software to its the full potential, but we are only limited by our imagination on how we can create and solve problems with this software. Keep it coming!
2621
dream coming true
Alan Randall April 29, 2012
I work at a university in Custodial services where I've been privileged to learn about computers from students and professors (luckily the computer lab. is in my building) since 1989. During this time I've secured some part time work using parametric 3D modelers for a steel fabricating company. This augmented the hobby and allowed the purchase of a decent hardware system and the desire has grown for decades to learn free form modeling. Rhino was the dream for many years and I was happy to learn that although I work in a low level capacity at the university, I still qualified for an educational discount. This program is much easier to learn from the get go than Solid Edge and even Alibre which still gets some use these days. The tutorials are awesome so far and the work flow is intuitive IMHO. My only regret is that Alibre and T-Splines (another dream for the future) were bought out by companies hostile to the concept of interoperable software applications. It would have been great to have easier interaction between them and Rhino. Notwithstanding, I'm very grateful to Robert McNeel and Associates for making the present experience possible for this dust grubbing janitor :-)
2620
Recent Rhino 4.0 Purchase
Daniel Green April 29, 2012
Excellent software and was delivered on time. Can't wait to really dig into this software's capabilities.
2588
Rhinoceros 4.0
Richard Garber January 21, 2012
Needed another copy, excellent price and it came in about 4 days. Nice work.
2514
Bought it for my son
John West May 31, 2011
I bought just the basic package. I'm delighted to see my son turning out all manner of model's and renderings. Instead of playing video games, he's designing portions of them. He wanted to get a copy for his birthday and frankly I think it's one of the best birthday presents he's ever gotten. he loves it:)
2492
Great Standard
William Castro April 17, 2011
Awesome program, especially when you add T-Splines!!!!
2474
owner
Hriton Arakelian March 9, 2011
perfect software +pricing thank you
2471
Rhino 4.0: Most sense per dollar spent
Kenton Frederic March 4, 2011
My first impression of NURBS was the CAD "monster" it could be. I often felt I'd be better off having a real rhino in my workshop!

I learn best when by watching, so I tuned into a McNeel's introduction webcast.

My initial investment was securing an on-going, "someone to watch" educator. This came in the form of Infinite Skill's Rhino training bundle.

Those two products quickly revealed to me that Rhino was no monster. Rather, what I always needed to tame the beast in my CADCAM hobby!
-KPF
2458
Wonderful customer service
Anonymous February 11, 2011
As a student, this company rated top. Price was great, ordering was easy, shipment was excellect fast and there was even a follow-up e-mail from the same person who packed and shipped!
Updates for the tutorials were easy to obtain.
Doesn't get any better than this.
Rebecca
2446
rhino 4.0
Michael Edwards January 17, 2011
Really love it . A little dense to learn with no experience but there seems to a large community of users posting tutorials and willing to answer question via bbs.
2417
Great buy
Anonymous November 8, 2010
I love rhino for double curved surfaces- Novedge had the best price I could find. You cannot beat the rhino licence agreement for student software. Best value in 3d software by far.
2409
Everything you expect
Anonymous October 19, 2010
Installs and works flawlessly, best price I could find.
2325
Rhino 4.0
George Grimes February 24, 2010
As a former user of autocad 14 which I found easy to use I was pleased that Rhino has s similar interface allowing me to be drawing in 3D comfortably after about 12 hours of looking thru the included help file to locate the commands. The drawing commands are 1 mouse click from the left toolbar, and the surface and solid command menues are 2 and occasionally 3 mouse clicks. There is maximum availability of screen space unencombered with tool ribbons in the drawing area. The loft command where you draw airplane wings and car bodies as an example is really wonderful, and can be easily tuned as needed. I have used the edit/rebuild lines command on lofted curves with consistantly good results on the boolian commands. I have called the software developer Robert McNeel .com and talked to their tech department befor buying the software and was impressed with their ability to explain the software to the rest of us.
I bought it the next day from Novedge.com at a cost of $778 and would also reccommend them as the vendor.
I am using a 1.8Ghz AMD processor desktop with 1Gb of ram running windows XP which may be a little light on ram which I hope to update in a few months.
I am a retired construction worker and engineer and use this software for aircraft design. It does all the hard to do stuff effortlessly.I use meshcam and EMC2 for the CAM software and some free downloaded FEA which are not included in this software or autocad or solidworks either.Rhino also has parametric modeling which is used to streach, nudge, and poke a shape into a different shape.

george grimes
2322
rhino 4.0
Nicole Mayo February 18, 2010
awesome rhino 4.0
2268
Rhino 4
Bryan Hartley October 5, 2009
more than I had hoped for makes modeling and really works well with my other design work and programs like autocad, has accelerated progress considerably.
2265
Outstanding software
Antosh Pieniazek September 30, 2009
Rhino is a great software. It is useful across a wide spectrum of industries, and with the tools available for customization, and the plug-ins available, the potential is almost limitless. For example, Rhino could take an idea, design it, use the Flamingo plug-in to render a photo-realistic image, then use the MadCam plug-in to produce the part on your CNC.
2260
What
Anonymous September 15, 2009
If only AutoCAD could work so well!

The guys at Robert McNeel know what they're doing - this program sets the bar.
2240
Rhino 4.0
Randy Haws August 16, 2009
so far so good, from a very, very novice!
2231
It really does what I want
Zachary (gardy) David July 17, 2009
The educational license allowed me to experience the capabilities of Rhino 4.0. It does all I wanted and then some. Although I am still not clear on the animation possibilities yet, I am confident I can use it to it's fullest extent. When I hear from users of other comparable software, I realize that Rhino is the leader of the field at significantly lower cost.

Thank you, novedge, Zach
2210
Great
Jason Brouwers June 5, 2009
I couldn't be happier with my Rhino purchase. The good people at Novedge were very helpful at every stage of the process.

I am a very happy customer.
2196
Excellent surface modeler at an awesome price
Anonymous May 6, 2009
I'm a happy Solid Works user and purchased Rhino for its free form surface capabilities. So far, I really like the product.
Its fun to use and I've already been able to create some designs. I'm looking forward to becoming a more advanced user. I definitely recommend Rhino if your looking for a powerful and very moderately priced solution.
2182
What a great program!
Wes Rist April 7, 2009
I was looking for a program to help me see in 3D some ideas I was thinking about. Since I had no previous CADD experience and can't render myself, I was hoping a program could help. Boy does it ever.

I resisted buying this program since I thought cheaper ones did all I needed, and I was afraid I could not master this one, since it has so much to offer. Boy was I wrong.

The cheaper programs crashed, and don't have nearly what this one does. Every day it seems I'm discovering another feature that just makes me shake my head. What a clever program.

The number of view modes is awesome; shaded, ghosted, rendered....I had my project done in reasonable time, and was thrilled with the result.

I don't know what other programs are thinking, they have so many features and then....don't explain them. This program does, and there are lots of tutorials available as well.

It's the BMW of programs. I looked at a lot of others and carefully made the choice to get this one and have enjoyed every day with it.

It's slick!

Wes
2168
Rhino 4.0
Joe Holt February 18, 2009
Novedge had the best price and worked with me to get the software delivered when I needed it..even when they did not have it in stock. Rhino 4.0 is the best 3D modeler I've found (using it for architecture)...and I've tried several since I started looking 20 years ago.
2153
CNC editor
N G Parmar Parmar January 3, 2009
The CNCeditor is really very good designed.It is easy to use.Best for verification of CNC programme.
Thank you very much for providing such a great software.

N G Parmar
2140
Rhino 4
Erik Lander November 3, 2008
Rhinoceros 4.0 is the best choice for C.A.D. Novedge offers this amazing tool for the most affordable price. It's really that simple.
2135
What a deal!
Christopher Custer October 31, 2008
Rhino is such a great powerful 3d modeling program, and to get it at this price was awesome. Everywhere I looked I couldn't find an educational price this cheap. I'm an Industrial Design student and needed this for class, but I think I will be using this program for years to come. Anything I can dream up, Rhino can build it. The user interface is really intuitive, and the icons are great, you always know what you're gonna get. It was shipped to me super quick too.
2125
Best Architectural Modeling Software Available!
Anonymous September 19, 2008
Rhino is the most straightforward, most versatile, and most powerful design software I have ever used. Although the included rendering capabilities could be improved, there are many free programs (such as Kerkythea) and fairly priced renderers (such as V-ray) that can import Rhino models. Highly recommended!
2119
Incredible software
Anonymous August 21, 2008
Rhino 4.0 is fantastic. I would recommend it to anyone.
2050
Newbie Learns Rhino Solid Modeling
Jack Mc Kie February 25, 2008
I'm new to solid modeling. I'm a scale model maker and have drawn with 2D AutoCAD LT for a few years. I make cast parts in resin and metal. My model parts require master patterns to produce rubber molds for spincasting. My goal is to use Rhino to develop master patterns that will be made cnc and possibly 3D printed. The tutorials are good and the program in general is great. I'm just learning but I like what I see so far and expect to use it extensively.

Good value for the money and a relatively fast learning curve for the average person.

Jack Mc Kie
2007
3d Modeling Veteran Tries Rhino
Mark Balenovic December 14, 2007
What an intelligent, intuitive and comprehensive program! As an Autocad 12 (up to 2002 now) expert user, I'm not easily swayed by other programs. Rhino is packed with abilities, has a very easy to grasp GUI, and the command line is there, which is essential for speed. I easily lofted a set of Autocad-made hull sections into a solid, nicely renderable surface. I feel at home with the program, only after four sessions. I'm going to buy the Rhino for sure, eliminating the need for about $6,000 of resource-hungry 3D Studio and Autocad upgrades. And the Rhino and Autocad 2002 combo don't embarrass my Dell Latitude's 4-year-old Pentium 4.

Mark B., Santa Fe
1993
Rhino 4! Try it, amazing.
Anonymous December 4, 2007
Seriously, for doing anything from unfolding for quick model building to full size manufactured production, a better 3d modeler for such a price is impossible to find. Not only can Rhino open almost any format you through at it, but it can write back to those formats as well. Don't have Illustrator? No Problem, open the file in Rhino, edit it, and return it as an illustrator file. Don't have solidworks? Open a solidworks file here to view and edit and return. Need to make a 3dPrint, you can use Rhino for this also. All in All, its the best choice for modeling with the familiar interface of Autocad, but with streamlined 3d and a set of tools that you would be hard pressed to find elsewhere.
1992
Rhino 4.0
Yuriy Taborisskiy December 4, 2007
Import/Export .STP Files fom/to Catia V5
1978
CAD rookie buys Rhino
Ronald Pogue November 26, 2007
My background; My work history was concerned with sophisticated mechanical devices, and I am an electronics/computer hobbiest, but I had zero experience with CAD.
When the need came along to use a CAD program, I asked around knowlegible folks and was pointed towards Rhino. I did the Rhino tutorials and was off and running. With no classroom training in CAD of any kind, I thought it wise to buy as much Rhino reading material as I could. I got books from Amazon, and I bought Rhino Training Manual 1. There are DVDs associated with all these publications which makes self teaching easy.
The Rhino Training manual stands head and shoulders above all the rest, being easy to understand and to the point. With the training manual to the side and my computer screen in front of me, I play with the lessons in the training manual and the Rhino program, it is fun.
I find Rhino very do-able.
1950
Excellent 3D Drawing Tool
Anonymous October 18, 2007
I first tried the demo version of Rhino and found the included tutorial easy to understand and with excellent demonstrations of Rhino's capabilities. I then tried several demo's of other 3D software and found they were no match to Rhino's ease of use and exemplary tutorial. I made a quick purchase and am even more pleased with the full learning tutorial and manual. It's the easiest to use and most intuitive 3D drawing software I have seen.
1945
Easy, simple, quick
Fred Wada October 10, 2007
Coming from Pro/CDRS or Desiger, AutoCAD 2006, Alias Studio, Rhino has been the most easy to learn and use 3D software by far. I don't use it for animation or particles, but for product design and scene creation it does a superb job. Simple compared to those other programs I've worked with in the past for real world designing.
1919
Rhino 4.0
Le Ross August 30, 2007
It beats AutoCad and a few other 3d rendering programs. I'm still a newbie with the 3d arean, so very user friendly. For those of you with lots of experience I think you'll find it up to your standards and quick to produce your stuff.
1868
Rhino 4.0
Anonymous June 25, 2007
Great modelling fotware , easy inteface and it can also work meshes. Love it.
1866
rihno
Kyle Gloger June 18, 2007
i like rihno i trying to save up to buy it cause im in high school and i need rihno but i cant find anyone to give it to me for free so but this is great
1858
very good
Kyoung Seo June 7, 2007
i love rhino
1834
Spikes in My Booleen Subtract, Mesh Offset
Anonymous May 21, 2007
I really do enjoy allot of the new tools and my never go bact to version 3. But it is a bit frustrating when things like this happen. I also realize I have more to learn. If anyone has a solution for this observation could you please advise me about how to correct it.
1804
I love it
Maxime Verret April 18, 2007
It is very usefull to me.

As a patent agent, I am able to view CAD models provided from inventors and give instructions to draftsmen.

I love it!

Maxime
1753
Great Upgrade
Anonymous February 21, 2007
Its a great upgrade from Rhino 3.0 and under development still. I didnt think that it was out for sale thou.
Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought
Luxion
KeyShot 8 for Education
1-Year Educational Student License
KeyShot Student: For full-time students and staff members / faculty of accredited academic institutions95Add to Cart Product 4568
VisualARQ
VisualARQ 2
Educational Student Edition
VisualARQ for Students: For students, teachers, professors and schools. Proof of educational status is required.95Add to Cart Product 5169
RhinoTerrain
RhinoTerrain 3.0 for Rhino 6.0
Educational Student Version
RhinoTerrain for Rhino 6: Digital Terrain Mapping for Rhino 5 64-bits for Students and Teachers360339Add to Cart Product 3238
madCAM
madCAM 6.0
Educational Student License
madCAM Student: madCAM (64-bit) for Students and Teachers.195185Add to Cart Product 1101
SOLIDWORKS
SOLIDWORKS 2018-2019
12-Months Student Edition
Solidworks Student 2018 2019: The professional 3D CAD system helping students learn to design better products. License valid for 1-year starting from the activation date.15086Add to Cart Product 14992
Chaos Group
V-Ray 3.6 Academic for Rhino
1-Year Student License
V-Ray for Rhino for Students: Available for students and teachers. No watermark.99Add to Cart Product 2718
competitive price